The FLARE
The Listening Room
Welcome to The Listening Room
19
0:00
-2:10

Welcome to The Listening Room

Intro: A new podcast venture
19

You’re in The Listening Room, a podcast series by The FLARE Substack which will feature updates and readings of selected published work. I’m Chevanne, the voice behind both.

I have to admit, it was a rough summer. I went through a lot emotionally and physically. Like every restaurant or post office, I was short-staffed as well. This meant making myself the mortar between widely spaced bricks. I do that, though, sacrifice myself, but it didn’t work, and I was exhausted.

I pivoted, shuffled, organized, and occasionally cried my way through it. I’m on the other side of it, now, roughly coinciding with the autumn equinox. I’m slowing down and trying to let go of all the tension from summer. It’s also my birthday today (October 3rd), which for me, is an occasion to celebrate myself. You can celebrate me by subscribing (either free or paid), with a one-time tip to my PayPal, or sending your well wishes in the comment section.

The FLARE is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Now let’s get to the fiction.

I took a break in September and it gave me space to think about the sci-fi mystery I’ve been dreaming up for over a year. I’ve built the details in my mind of landscapes, people, technology, and what I think is important in any society: history. The who, who they are, and how they got there.

Like the three-part “Of Dust and Dreams” story I published earlier this year, this story is an experiment. It’s my most expansive world yet. I invite listeners and readers to comment and let me know what you think (kindly, please).

In “Ithaka” we meet Anaella, a detective who unexpectedly sparks an interplanetary conflict during a murder investigation.

To note, this story is still under construction. That means some of you may be part of it. Feel free to email theflare@substack.com with questions or insight.

Episodes will premiere each week on Mondays at 3pm starting October 17th. Hope to see you there.

Happy listening!


MediumTwitterInstagramPayPalKo-fi
19 Comments
The FLARE
The Listening Room
Selected readings of longer form, serial fiction by the author. Episodes premiere weekly after story introduction.