21 Comments
Jun 21, 2022·edited Jun 21, 2022Liked by Chevanne Scordinsky

I tend to lean toward #3: the real problem is the idea of idolatry to begin with. Human beings are such fragile, complex, imperfect creatures. For whatever reason, I tend to instinctively want to protect a person who is facing a public reckoning. I've been doing a lot of introspection recently re: why that is. I don't believe it's because I condone someone's mistakes or resent a narrative shifting. But I do think I think I identify more with human fallibility and shortcomings than I do with a desire for vengeance -- which is what "call out" culture, especially from people who are not directly involved in a particular situation, can sometimes feel like. But I recognize and respect that healing/justice can look and feel like different things for different people.

Expand full comment
founding
Jun 21, 2022Liked by Chevanne Scordinsky

If I begin to idolize you, Chev, will skeletons suddenly pop out? 🤫😏🚪

It sure seems possible to maintain an honest legacy, but who wants to? I don't know. People like fables, cautionary tales, and rise and fall stories. But they also seem to hate change and ambiguity. It's a mess.

Was this a general musing, or did you recently learn something about someone you dig?

Expand full comment

I’d lean toward #3. We hold artists/celebrities to an ideal while forgetting that they’re human.

Expand full comment

Difficult questions. No matter his weaknesses, the idolatry for someone like Michael Jackson persists. It doesn't really matter whether I'm wrong or right.

Expand full comment

Was just talking about this. A friend and I were discussing When Harry Met Sally and I mentioned Woody Allen's film Annie Hall as a forerunner. She said she would never watch his work or say his name. I do sometimes wish I didn't know about the transgressions artists make (that we all make) because I can never look at the work in the same light or hold the person in the same regard. I'm still not over the fact that I cannot enjoy the Cosby Show anymore.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Chevanne Scordinsky

I think idolatry is where the problem starts as you suggest. We crave the idea that there is someone who has somehow made it, risen above the rest. When their humanity is exposed, it reminds us of our own. When we know too much about an artist or writer we admire, I think it can affect how we view their art.

Expand full comment

This was such a good prompt for contemplation. I tend to agree with Alicia’s comment, and reckon that it’s super nuanced and subjective as to what behavior is forgivable. This also made me think about those celebrities who’ve cemented themselves as national (sometimes global) treasures, like Dolly Parton or Betty White. Sometimes it seems like the public looks for behavioral discrepancies in certain people over others, like no one questions the goodness of some celebs when they could be just as shitty as those we put under a microscope. I guess it comes back to whether one’s legacy is honest, like you said!

Expand full comment

Chevanne, this is a true article; they are all kinds of mixed feelings, when we placed that person in our heart. We all are Imperfect. Repentance is the beginning to a change Heart. SO. I throw away the bad (cause if it's a crime they will get punish) and hold to the good and let the one who Created us all handle the rest. Love to read more from you. ❤️❤️

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022·edited Jul 15, 2022Liked by Chevanne Scordinsky

Chevanne,

Coincidence: I saw this post yesterday and 'liked' it. It's an absolutely fascinating topic.

Hahaha, so just today I clicked on a Substack whose author is clearly VERY 'personality' oriented. One post attacked public figures (active in social/political issues); then another post adored others, one of whom I often happen to know more about than other people (because of geography).

I like the famous guy in a number of ways and have followed his work for a long time. BUT I dislike him being adored as a one-dimensional hero; because I know that some of his mistakes have led OTHERS to physical injury and even death (not his 'fault'!). (His own blindness almost killed him once, but he somehow survived and emerged with no growth in awareness.)

He sets himself up as an expert without any awareness of his own blindness. People follow him of their own volition; they never research for themselves. I listed verifiable facts about this very public, very outspoken guy that contradict his image in the eyes of fans.

Within seconds, I was summarily attacked in every possible way by the Substacker. The Substacker went nuts. Substacker defended the idol and attacked me repeatedly. I took a few civil shots back and left (I had never seen their Substack before; I only found it because they 'liked' my comments elsewhere).

I was immediately reminded of your post. I delivered unwanted facts about an adored hero; and as a messenger I was shot. Other times when I delivered the same information I've been met with, "Really? I didn't know," so you never know. But in this case, the idolatry and hero-worship was too strong. They did NOT WANT to know.

I have no morale to deliver. Simply a funny turn of events. Famous guy is blind to his errors; followers crave heroes; and nobody ever wants their fantasy bubble burst.

Thank you for your topic and your space. I hope you have a great weekend. :-)

Expand full comment